Skip to Content

Hall of Fame

The SOPGA Hall of Fame recognizes extraordinary careers and pays tribute to those PGA Professionals who served the Section in an exemplary manner, set standards for promoting the game throughout our communities, and/or will long be recognized and respected for their illustrious playing accomplishments.  By dedicating themselves to the game of golf, SOPGA Hall of Fame Members contributed in a special way to the Section’s growth and heritage of professionalism.

2020 Inductees

The Southern Ohio Section is proud to announce the two newest members of the Southern Ohio PGA Hall of Fame: Tom Littlepage, PGA and Ed Mitchell, PGA. Littlepage and Mitchell join an exclusive group of leaders and difference-makers in our Section’s history.

Tom Littlepage, PGA

Tom Littlepage gained his PGA Membership in 1959 and held numerous positions within the SOPGA during his career, along with winning multiple Section awards. Littlepage became the Section Treasurer in 1979 and worked his way up to Secretary and, eventually, Section President in 1983.

He was also honored as the Section’s Bill Strausbaugh Award winner in 1984 and 1986, along with being awarded the SOPGA Legacy Award in 2018. The Legacy Award honors a Past President or prominent SOPGA Member who has shown exemplary devotion and commitment to enhancing the well-being of the Southern Ohio PGA.

Littlepage’s professional accomplishments include designing and building the second nine holes at Stillwater Valley Golf Course in Versailles, Ohio. He also helped design the second nine holes at Greenville Country Club in Greenville, Ohio. He has mentored many current PGA Professionals and coached multiple levels of golf teams throughout his career.

Ed Mitchell, PGA

Joining Littlepage in the Hall of Fame is Ed Mitchell. Mitchell is extremely passionate about the education and development aspects of golf. He helped revolutionize club fitting with his signature loft & lie machine and recently developed SwingFit Data Analysis program for high school and college golfers to advance their games.

Mitchell served on the PGA Junior Golf Academy and the PGA National Education Committee for four years each. He has won numerous awards from both the South Florida Section and the Southern Ohio Section, including the 2016 SOPGA Legacy Award.

Previous Inductees

2020 – Ed Mitchell, Tom Littlepage

2019 – Bob Sowards

2018 – Pat Delaney, Paul Thomas

2017 – Tom Kendrick, Steve Jurick, Larry Drehs

2016 – Jeff Steinberg, Zachary Fink

2014 – Gil Gusweiler

2012 – Gene Samborsky

2011 – Steve Groves, Geoff Hensley, Gary Howlett

2010 – Jim Brown

2009 – Jim Gilbert

2008 – Guy Amicon

2007 – Phil Stockdale, George Sargent

2006 – Mike Crotty

2005 – Lauren King, Gary Taylor, Rino DellaFlora

2004 – John Marchi, Otto Hackbarth

2003 – Jack Nicklaus, Pete Brown, Bob Harrison, Marty Kavanaugh II

2002 – Jim Flick

2000 – Bob Hauer

1999 – Robert Kepler, Jim Slominski, Steve Zappe

1998 – Elhanon ‘El’ Collins, Robert Foppe, Walker Inman, Jack Ortman, Dick Plummer

1997 – Tom Bryant, Gene Marchi, Harry Schwab, Donald Shock, Marty Kavanaugh I, Jim Rudolph, Jack Kidwell