The Southern Ohio PGA is pleased to announce our 2021 Special Award recipients.  Led by Golf Professional of the Year Rob Karnes, PGA, and Teacher of the Year Don Sargent Jr., PGA, our honorees represent the very best of the Southern Ohio PGA Section.  This year, we are honoring nine outstanding PGA Members and one PGA Associate for their leadership and innovation in the game and business of golf.

“This was an unprecedented year, but our PGA Members and Associates came up with many innovative ways to deal with the challenges caused by a pandemic while ultimately improving the operations and golf experience at their properties,”  noted Awards Committee Chair Michael Heston, the PGA General Manager at The Medallion Club.  “It was a pleasure for the whole Awards Committee to read about all of the wonderful things our fellow Professionals are doing and it made this year’s selection process that much more difficult. We are so lucky to have so many great individuals in our Section that are dedicated to growing the game. I look forward to honoring this year’s Special Award Recipients throughout the 2021 season and at our Fall Awards Dinner.”
The complete list of winners is below:

Associate Professional of the Year
Matt Powell
Brookside Golf & Country Club

Assistant Professional of the Year
Evan Hartnett, PGA
Columbus Country Club

Youth Player Development Award
Ryne Burnett, PGA
Kenwood Country Club

Player Development Award
Dennis Wells, PGA
Little Miami Golf Center

Patriot Award
Mike Stills, PGA
Rattlesnake Ridge Golf Club

Bill Strausbaugh Award
Harry Alexander, PGA
Clovernook Country Club

Merchandiser of the Year – Public
Anthony Andrews, PGA
Blue Ash Golf Course

Merchandiser of the Year – Private
Jimmy Logue, PGA
Cincinnati Country Club

Teacher of the Year presented by GOLFTEC
Don Sargent Jr., PGA
Scioto Country Club

Golf Professional of the Year
Rob Karnes, PGA
NCR Country Club

Nominations for the 2022 Special Awards will begin on August 1, 2021 and close on October 25, 2021.