(GROVE CITY, Ohio) April 19, 2021 – Congratulations to Andy Montgomery, PGA and Bob Sowards, PGA on claiming the E-Z-GO Spring Pro-Pro Championship! The team from Kinsale Golf & Fitness Club shot 7-under-par over 36-holes, then captured the victory with a par on the first playoff hole against the Columbus Country Club team of Ryan Coll, PGA & Chase Wilson, PGA. 

The Southern Ohio PGA 2021 competitive schedule kicked off at the E-Z-GO Spring Pro-Pro Championship with Lake Erie Golf Cars Local Sales Representative, Danny Hayes, welcoming our SOPGA players to the event at Pinnacle Golf Club. 

Once on the course, teams participated in a Four-Ball Stroke Play competition for the first round. Defending champions Montgomery & Sowards carded six birdies on their way to a score of 6-under-par but it was Coll & Wilson who were the Round One leaders at 7-under-par with eight birdies. After taking a break for lunch the teams headed back onto the course for Round Two’s Modified Alternate Shot competition. An even-par round kept Coll & Wilson at the top of the leaderboard while Montgomery & Sowards joined them with a Round Two score of 1-under-par, leading to a playoff. The two final teams returned to the course’s 10th hole, where Montgomery & Sowards claimed the championship with a par. 

“The main thing was we never gave up. We made bogey on eight and double on nine and fell three back but we never gave up and made a couple birdies late,” noted Sowards when asked what the key was to their victory. Montgomery added “choosing a partner like Bob Sowards is always key to any victory.”

Click here to view the full E-Z-GO Spring Pro-Pro Championship leaderboard on BlueGolf. 

Click here to view the E-Z-GO Spring Pro-Pro Championship photo gallery on BlueGolf. 

This year’s Spring Pro-Pro Championship was made possible thanks to the support of our Southern Ohio PGA partners E-Z-GO & Lake Erie Golf Cars. 

In addition to our partners, we would also like to thank Scott Callaghan, PGA and his staff at Pinnacle Golf Club for hosting today’s E-Z-GO Spring Pro-Pro Championship.